Hiatus

Did you miss me?

I miss me. Holy crap what a month it’s been. I don’t know where all the hours in the day go..but I suspect it’s right into Xavier’s mouth, because that’s where EVERYTHING goes these days.

He’s like your mom. Except he has more teeth.

And that, in a nutshell is where I have been. Xavier has brought the entire household down with his teething ass. I thought at first it was just the top front two..but the other night I realized there’s more. Like those scenes in zombie movies where they think it’s just two zombies..but then the camera pans out and you see all the zombies coming out of the woods and closing in. (Walking Dead anyone?! GAAAH!!!). That’s what’s happening with Xavier’s teeth. He’s got definitely three that have cut through, and what looks like three more coming in. THAT IS SIX GODDAMNED TEETH.

SIX OF EM.

And he’s pretty miserable.

He makes this face all the time:

Now, in the grand scheme of things, he’s still a pretty happy kid. People have it way worse. For him though, to wake up 2-4 times a night, to not nap, to cry for 45 solid minutes, or just freak out because a dog barks..it’s pretty miserable. For John and my mom, he seems like he’ll sleep a little longer or hang out in the jumperoo a little longer, but I swear, for me, he’s needier. And with John back at work for a few weeks, it was just me and Mr. Don’teverfuckingputmedown.

To make matters worse..the kid is INTO SHIT.  I never, ever want him to become mobile, because when he does I’m screwed. You’ll never hear from me again. He’s constantly reaching his chubby little hands into EVERYTHING. EVERYTHING ALL THE TIME.

But, now that John is not at work anymore (ugh..stupid freaking economy I can’t take this shit), things have calmed down some.

GAH PIGFACE!!!

See all those damned teeth? Ugh.

Okay so..one major thing: As of March 1st, I quit breastfeeding. I know.

As I weaned off the Reglan, my supply completely went to hell along with it. I knew it would, I knew my days were numbered, I knew it had to end sometime. I know 8 months is by no means a failure.  It really helped that since my supply trickled out like that, Xavier kinda got frustrated towards the end there and just gave up, and now, near as I can tell, he doesn’t even miss it. So..mercifully, he wasn’t all emotionally attached to the idea. All he cares about is where the noms come from..and if they’re not coming from the boobs, forget the boobs.

He’s getting so big.

So, it’s the end of an era, and my little baby is quickly (too fucking quickly) turning into a toddler. One who is trying his very hardest to pull himself up on things, and assuming the crawl position (then faceplanting.)

Crazy enough, I have to get serious about planning his birthday party. It looks like I’ll have a chunk of family coming in from Illinois AND Texas, so with all of that going on, we decided it’s probably best to not try and have the party here at home. I’ve got my eye on a location, and I’m hoping I’ll be able to get it, and trying not to get my hopes up too high at the same time.

I’ve got lots more to update you guys on, and I definitely will get back here soon to do just that.

Stay Classy, San Diego.

Leave a Reply

