Capone Update!

As you can see, he’s pretty much back to his old self again. And yea, I totally just posted a video of my dog beginning to urinate. Aaaand you watched it.
It took a few days for him to pink back up entirely. I guess we’ll never know what the hell happened to him. I know it sucked. And I know that I’m fighting some kind of bug myself. Friday morning I woke up with a sore throat, and I thought I was getting my usual cold. I get the same cold, over and over again, every spring and every fall. Allergies maybe? But it only lasts like 5 days and I don’t think that’s how allergies work.
Doesn’t matter anyway because this is different. Nothing else ever developed, I’m fine except for the sore throat. It’s REALLY sore though, swallowing and talking hurt like hell..and I like to do both of those things quite often. I’m trying reallllly hard to fight it because since I’m still nursing, I can’t take any kind of good medicine, and I found out this sad fact the hard way.
Whenever I fly, I take a Claritin D because it toootally helps with the ear popping. Yes, really. A pharmacist recc’d that shit a few years back and it works like gangbusters. So..I did a quick google to make sure it was safe with breastfeeding and it said (I’m paraphrasing) “Sure, but it could possibly affect milk supply, so if you have trouble or whatever, don’t take that crap.”
But I’ve been super lucky when it comes to breastfeeding. After I saw the lactation consultants, it was a breeze. Healthy supply, Xavier’s a rockin’ latcher, everything is just aces. And ear pain sucks. So I popped that claritin without even thinking twice.
The entire trip, I exclusively nursed, no pumping. Xavier didn’t seem hungry (and believe it, this is the only thing he is NOT cool with. He lets you know when he’s hungry.). I DID notice that he wasn’t feeding for as long as usual, but I thought maybe he was just getting more efficient, or perhaps he wasn’t lingering as long because we weren’t always in optimal situations. (Airports, hotels, country club locker rooms, the car..) So I didn’t think much of it. I took another one on the way home on Tuesday, and didn’t notice anything at all until I went back to work on Thursday.
Thursday I went to pump..and nothing came out. NOTHING?! Yah, NOTHING. I tried and tried, thought maybe the pump was broken. Figured out it wasn’t. Called the WarmLine at Women & Infants Hospital. (Read: EXCELLENT RESOURCE) She asked me if I’d taken any medicines recently and I told her about the Claritin and how it was safe, right?
“Well yes, it’s safe in terms of it won’t hurt you baby. But we strongly advise against taking it because it has been known to do serious damage to your supply. It’s been known to end breastfeeding for some women”
END?!! Yah, END.
My heart sank. I’m not one of those people who is all “Breastfeeding is the only way!!”. It’s not. Formula is fine, and I can tell you it saved my ass this week. However, I do want to continue nursing as long as I can. It’s good for him, it’s good for me, it’s free (hello!) and I don’t know..it makes me feel all earth momma hippie cool, and lowers his risks of obesity and diabetes and stuff like that that runs rampant in my family.
So I’m not ready to stop, and I had a surprisingly emotional reaction to the idea. Through the last week, I’ve been pumping like crazy, drinking ass flavored teas, popping Fenugreek and chasing it with Gatorade and eating oatmeal like it’s my job. I am NOT. Fucking. Quitting. He was able to nurse directly without issue. But the pump is not as skilled at removal. So I would have to leave him with at least SOME formula while I went to work. I am not generally an overly emotional person, and logically, I know that formula won’t hurt him. So when I started to CRY while prepping formula bottles, it surprised the hell out of me. Every day I had to crack open that damned can, I got madder and madder. All because I didn’t want my ears to hurt.
But, yesterday for the first time in 12 days, I was able to pump enough at work that he will NOT be having formula today.
Yay!!
So listen up mommas, if you’re breastfeeding, don’t take Claritin. I know it can be a sensitive topic, and breastfeeding vs formula has been known to start wars on the interwebz, and I’m definitely not interested in that, so don’t get crazy. I’m just talkin about my shitty mistake and how I felt shitty about it.
Now, I gotta prep some bottles and get to work.

Leave a Reply

